USB JTAG  

Go Back   USB JTAG > USBJTAG (NT) > Devices > USB JTAG (NT) on SurfBoard Modems > Other modems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:30 PM
lrdslr lrdslr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default ISP point in CISCO DPC3925 and ARRIS TG862

Can anyone tell me the ISP point of CISCO DPC3925 and ARRIS TG862?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:55 PM
CAPONE CAPONE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrdslr View Post
Can anyone tell me the ISP point of CISCO DPC3925 and ARRIS TG862?

Thanks!
Is it possible you can take pictures of the MOBO's?

The DCP3925 Should be SPI Flash, In which case you can provided direct power to Flash in order to read and Program. Not sure if the TG862 is an SPI Flash, the TG822 IS and SPI Flash and there is no problem on Reading and Programming it by providing direct power to the Flash...........
__________________
"If you give a man a fish you feed him for a day. If you teach a man to fish you feed him for a lifetime."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2013, 08:11 AM
lrdslr lrdslr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPONE View Post
Is it possible you can take pictures of the MOBO's?

The DCP3925 Should be SPI Flash, In which case you can provided direct power to Flash in order to read and Program. Not sure if the TG862 is an SPI Flash, the TG822 IS and SPI Flash and there is no problem on Reading and Programming it by providing direct power to the Flash...........
With external power also does not detect (ID 00 00 00).
Tested connections (DPC3925 - ISP disconnected):


USBJTAGNT--------DPC3925 (MX25L12845EMI-10G)
Pin 1(TRST)------Disconnected
Pin 3(TDI)-------Pin 15(SI)
Pin 5(TDO)-------Pin 8(SO)
Pin 9(TCK)-------Pin 16(SCK)
Pin 11(RESET)----Pin 7 (CS)
Pin 2(GND)-------Pin 10(GND)-----External GND
-----------------Pin 2 (VCC)-----External 5V


What could be wrong?

Pics:







Last edited by lrdslr; 08-22-2013 at 09:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2013, 09:26 AM
CAPONE CAPONE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrdslr View Post
With external power also does not detect (ID 00 00 00).
Tested connections (DPC3925 - ISP disconnected):


USBJTAGNT--------DPC3925 (MX25L12845EMI-10G)
Pin 1(TRST)------Disconnected
Pin 3(TDI)-------Pin 15(SI)
Pin 5(TDO)-------Pin 8(SO)
Pin 9(TCK)-------Pin 16(SCK)
Pin 11(RESET)----Pin 7 (CS)
Pin 2(GND)-------Pin 10(GND)-----External GND
-----------------Pin 2 (VCC)-----External 5V


What could be wrong?
Soon I will put the images.
You can try 3.3 Volts instead of 5Volts. And what SPI XML are you using as your target? The SPI flash should be 16MB so try DPC3000 as your target.

You may also need to add the SPI Flash to the "Flash XML"
__________________
"If you give a man a fish you feed him for a day. If you teach a man to fish you feed him for a lifetime."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2013, 09:56 AM
lrdslr lrdslr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPONE View Post
You can try 3.3 Volts instead of 5Volts. And what SPI XML are you using as your target? The SPI flash should be 16MB so try DPC3000 as your target.

You may also need to add the SPI Flash to the "Flash XML"
I tested with 3.3v (4v) with DPC3000 XML, and also does not detect ... I checked all the welds and are 100%. The problem may be in USBJTAG? Some configuration? When I connect the power directly into the flash, I do not use the original 15v power supply of the modem. Is that correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2013, 12:46 PM
lrdslr lrdslr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

I did a test with the external power with a multimeter. Disconnected, the external power is 3.3v, but connected directly in flash, drops to 1.65v. The 5v drops to 2v. This happened with a few different models of external power. Why does this happen? This may be the cause of the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2013, 01:03 PM
usbbdm usbbdm is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,508
Default

Any chance it has JTAG port? If not then we might have to use SPI programming.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2013, 01:21 PM
lrdslr lrdslr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by usbbdm View Post
Any chance it has JTAG port? If not then we might have to use SPI programming.
Do not have JTAG port. I'm already trying to use the SPI, but USBJTAG not detect the flash.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2013, 02:49 PM
usbbdm usbbdm is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrdslr View Post
Do not have JTAG port. I'm already trying to use the SPI, but USBJTAG not detect the flash.
What value you have? If it is all00 or all ff you do not have it connect right.
If you use apply power on flash, you do not need to power on the modem. If you use ISP pin you must power on the modem.
Not all modem with power on flash will work. I found one modem that can detect flash even without the power and after apply power on it it flashes OK.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2013, 03:58 PM
merkin merkin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrdslr View Post
I did a test with the external power with a multimeter. Disconnected, the external power is 3.3v, but connected directly in flash, drops to 1.65v. The 5v drops to 2v. This happened with a few different models of external power. Why does this happen? This may be the cause of the problem?
What is the amp rating on the 5v external supply?
Can you lift VCC (pin2) from the pcb?
You are powering all the other components on the 3.3v rail, which is causing the voltage drop.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-24-2013, 08:05 AM
lrdslr lrdslr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by usbbdm View Post
What value you have? If it is all00 or all ff you do not have it connect right.
If you use apply power on flash, you do not need to power on the modem. If you use ISP pin you must power on the modem.
Not all modem with power on flash will work. I found one modem that can detect flash even without the power and after apply power on it it flashes OK.
Quote:
Originally Posted by merkin View Post
What is the amp rating on the 5v external supply?
Can you lift VCC (pin2) from the pcb?
You are powering all the other components on the 3.3v rail, which is causing the voltage drop.
The 5v external power used is a cell charger and has 800mha. I also tried with 5v of USB port of notebook, without success (ID 00 00 00).

When I lifted the pin 2 of the flash, the voltage did not drop, but the USBJTAGNT not yet detected the flash. For testing, I used also an BlackcatUSB (pin 2 up) and it worked perfectly with 3.3v and 5v. The connections are the same. What could be wrong with USBJTAGNT?

Note: In BlackcatUSB when pin 2 was lifted, worked perfectly. But when pin 2 was connected to the board, it does not work. If I use an 3.3v external power with higher amp, she will work with pin 2 connected to board?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-24-2013, 08:11 PM
teddyalmonds teddyalmonds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 48
Default

I've been able to read and write to the 3925 spi using a blackcat and the nt with 3.3 volts.

Sometimes the length of the wire you have powering pin 1 can be the reason why you can't get a good detect, let alone a good read/write. I prefer to use a smaller one with a usb ttl and get the 3.3v off of that.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-25-2013, 06:47 AM
lrdslr lrdslr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teddyalmonds View Post
I've been able to read and write to the 3925 spi using a blackcat and the nt with 3.3 volts.

Sometimes the length of the wire you have powering pin 1 can be the reason why you can't get a good detect, let alone a good read/write. I prefer to use a smaller one with a usb ttl and get the 3.3v off of that.
You lift the pin 2 of the flash?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-26-2013, 12:05 AM
teddyalmonds teddyalmonds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrdslr View Post
You lift the pin 2 of the flash?
No way! I just used a clip and that was it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-15-2013, 03:34 AM
Damo2k Damo2k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teddyalmonds View Post
No way! I just used a clip and that was it.
Hi teddyalmonds, I have a Cisco EPC3925, and would like to dump the firmware to perform security analysis on it. I only need to dump firmwaer, not upload firmware.

I am very new to this, so I want to be really careful to not damage the router.

Your previous post mentions the cable length to pin 1 but CAPONE's post shows pin 1 disconnected.

Also, when you said you used a clip in relation to clip 2, what did you mean by that ?

Thanks,
Damo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.