USB JTAG  

Go Back   USB JTAG > USBBDM (NT) > BDM (NT) on digital box. > BDM (NT)on DCT 2224/2244

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:25 AM
ebelul2 ebelul2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default DCT2244 help for a beginner.

Hi, I'm new to all this and iv been doing a lot of reading for the past weeks but there are still some gaps in my knowledge. I recently ordered and received the USBBDM NT and downloaded USBJTAG NT v0.28 but I cannot find my box(DCT2244)under the target menu instead I find DCT 2224, so my question is how can I get my box on that list? and also Iv been trying to figure out how this is all done and I had the idea of calling my cc & upgrading my service to highest package, copying the memory of box onto my computer and then going back to the basic package and just loading the memory of the premium? would this idea work? what obstacles am I facing? How do most people use this software to achieve this?

Any help would be appreciated
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2009, 05:16 AM
usbbdm usbbdm is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,566
Default

DT2244 is the same as DCT2224 as far as testing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2009, 07:23 PM
joe9877000 joe9877000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 54
Default help

I have a dct2244. It was working until couple days ago. Now all it shows on the screen is " this channel will be availble shortly" and the name of the shows come up as well. What should i do?? what programs do i need?? i dont know anything about boxes??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2009, 06:46 PM
ebelul2 ebelul2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I'm sorry but does anyone offer any form of guide, I don't mean to offend anyone but I realize now that we have to talk in code language since most of my questions were not answered, Iv been doing quite a bit of reading and its really hard finding out what you need to know when everyone is talking that way, and for a beginner its even harder. I don't really know what strategy to follow in order to do this, I think if I was led on the right path I wouldn't have much of a problem figuring it out. If there is no such help then, I have a couple of questions,

1) what is the significance of a UID, is this how the company identifies me and my account? what does the cc use it for? Is it important to copy the same UID when cloning a box, if so why?
2) what is a network address? Do we need to worry about it?
3) When cloning, is it enough to just copy the nvram to replicate the box, or do we need the boot sector and RAM, Dip ...
4) If I successfully clone a box, can the cc detect it and restore it back to normal? If so do they do this on a normal basis, because then that would mean I would have to have an active box always at hand for every time they clear it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2010, 07:53 PM
trueblu8 trueblu8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Default

Well I've cloned a box, boot, plat, apps 1-4, rsvd, and nvram. I've also duplicated the UID and UPM as they are on the original box. I've let this box sit in the stream for a day and nothing. Am I missing something? Can a cloned box get restored?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2010, 06:28 AM
joejoe332006 joejoe332006 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 151
Default

The Answer is no, if the Xc chip has been wiped from the CC with all the channel tiers you will only get Basic cable with that box period.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:36 AM
trueblu8 trueblu8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Default

How about replacing the XC Chip with a new one? Can it be done?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2010, 12:21 PM
jtagtester jtagtester is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Default

You cannot replace the XC Processor. Once power has been removed the chip with self destruct.

Another thing you should be aware of is the XC Processor is able to detect tampering via certain pins. Once you trip this detection the chip is destroyed.

Only a select few companies in the world have the ability to remove and replace that chip. Contec/WWD (World Wide Digital) is one of them.

Once the chip is removed it is loaded with "seed keys" that are used for decryption, next the unit address is loaded in and finally the chip is armed against tampering. It is a common misconception the keys are removed upon deauthorization of service levels or that new keys are loaded when premium services are added. The keys never leave the chip and they never change. When the cable company downgrades a unit, the chip is instructed to disallow decryption of certain PID's (program identifiers).

To date, no one has been able to successfully hack or override this critical piece of hardware.

This technology was originally developed by the military and perfected by GI (General Instruments) now known as Motorola.

Sorry to bust any ones bubble or ruin your day, but we will never see the day this chip is hacked. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2010, 01:53 PM
usbbdm usbbdm is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,566
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtagtester View Post
You cannot replace the XC Processor. Once power has been removed the chip with self destruct.

Another thing you should be aware of is the XC Processor is able to detect tampering via certain pins. Once you trip this detection the chip is destroyed.

Only a select few companies in the world have the ability to remove and replace that chip. Contec/WWD (World Wide Digital) is one of them.

Once the chip is removed it is loaded with "seed keys" that are used for decryption, next the unit address is loaded in and finally the chip is armed against tampering. It is a common misconception the keys are removed upon deauthorization of service levels or that new keys are loaded when premium services are added. The keys never leave the chip and they never change. When the cable company downgrades a unit, the chip is instructed to disallow decryption of certain PID's (program identifiers).

To date, no one has been able to successfully hack or override this critical piece of hardware.

This technology was originally developed by the military and perfected by GI (General Instruments) now known as Motorola.

Sorry to bust any ones bubble or ruin your day, but we will never see the day this chip is hacked. Ever.

Very good information. I think never say "never". There insider who knows this information and might leak someday. I think you are one of the person who might know the secret.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-19-2010, 02:26 PM
trueblu8 trueblu8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Default

Yes. Great info, a little disheartening, but great info none the less. Thanks.

Now can you please tell me how to operate pony prog and what cable is needed? LOL. I believe cloning the s/n is the only other option here.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-25-2010, 11:21 PM
stuuked stuuked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Default

i agree Mod, between u and jtagtester ill bet your giggling all the way to the bank. I think you (usbbdm) know all about that xc chip and i dont blame u for releasing that knowledge. Its hardware, hardware should be bypassable in one way shape or form, and if anyone could figure it out. It will be revealed one day but by then it will be because there is something new on the table. Cmon mod hook us up!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.